Bud Reitzel Award

Bud ReitzelConsidered one of the industry’s founding fathers and a mentor to so many in the industry, Bud Reitzel brought integrity, innovative thinking and passion to the industry he helped create. The values and integrity Bud instilled at Asset Acceptance and impressed on those he did business with, are put into practice every day by thousands of industry professionals who either knew him or work for those who did.

RMAI created the Reitzel Award to recognize an individual for outstanding leadership and dedication in the receivables management industry who has demonstrated, over many years of service, the ideals that Bud so firmly believed in. This award is a fitting tribute to the life and legacy of Bud Reitzel who passed away in 2012. Bud’s commitment to honesty, doing what was right, respecting the consumer, and treating everyone fairly are traits he lived by and encouraged in others. His vision, leadership, and advocacy were instrumental in the creation of an industry that thrives today.

The award is presented each year at RMAI’s Annual Conference (pending applicable nominations are received). The selection committee is chaired by the current Past President of RMAI and members include RMAI’s Executive Committee.

RMAI members are encouraged to nominate someone for this prestigious award by submitting the nomination form. The nomination deadline is on or about December 1 of each year. Members can mail, fax or email the form to: Receivables Management Association International, 1050 Fulton Avenue, Suite 120, Sacramento, CA 95825; 916-482-2760 (fax); or email it to jstieger@rmaintl.org. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Download Nomination Form

Reitzel Award Recipients

Irwin Kirschenbaum

Irwin Kirschenbaum
Kirschenbaum & Phillips, P.C.

Gary Wood

Dennis Hammond
The Debt Marketplace, Inc.

Michael Bendickson
Absolute Resolutions Corp.

President’s Award Recipients

The President’s Award was created in 2017 to recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions and services to the association and membership. Nominations for the President’s Award are submitted by the Board of Directors and the Certification Chair.

Michael Lagana receives 2018 President's AwardMichael Lagana, Vice President of Maryland Portfolios, received the 2018 President’s Award for his engagement at both the state and federal level and for his overall championship of RMAI. Lagana is frequently called on to visit Washington, D.C. to advocate on behalf of the industry. Lagana’s company has been a consistent contributor to the RMAI Legislative Fund and a continued exhibitor at the Annual Conference.

Steven Cohen was unanimously selected as the recipient of the 2017 President’s Award. He was nominated by Adam Parks, who described Cohen as “a champion for new members” and spoke to Cohen’s five years of service on the Membership Committee. Todd Lansky also nominated Cohen, saying, “Steve is always going above and beyond to promote the best interests of the association” and noting his creative problem-solving and recruitment efforts. The award was presented at the 2017 Annual Conference in Las Vegas.