Certified Receivables Business (CRB)

Debt buying companies, collection law firms, third-party collection agencies, and creditors can participate in and earn a Certified Receivables Company (CRB) designation through RMAI.

What does business certification involve?
Certifications will be granted to businesses that comply with uniform and rigorous industry standards of best practices and pass an RMAI conducted background check. The standards address core principles including account documentation, chain of title, consumer complaint and dispute resolution, statute of limitation compliance, vendor management, credit bureau reporting, resale, as well as other relevant operational procedures.

Does my business have to be certified?
Debt buying companies who are actively purchasing portfolios must complete their CRB designation within one year as a condition for RMAI membership. Debt buying companies who are not actively purchasing receivables must meet the following requirements to remain an associate member:

    • Must not have purchased an account since your last membership renewal
    • When you purchase an account, it must meet all the requirements and standards outlined in the certification program
    • Must complete your business certification within one year of purchasing an account

Collection law firms and third party collection agencies may voluntarily seek the CRB designation but it is not a requirement in order to maintain their RMAI membership.

Can affiliated businesses share certification?

Affiliated businesses (debt buying companies, collection law firms, and third party agencies) may share certification under a “Family of Companies” designation provided that all of the businesses meet the following criteria:

    1. Have the same Chief Compliance Officer (CCO),
    1. Have the same executive management team that exerts control over business operations (this requirement may be waived by the Administration & Budget Committee if there exists other unifying factors that would preclude its necessity),
    1. Maintain a uniform network of compliance on all accounts serviced between the business entities under the shared certification
    1. Are governed by the same corporate policies and procedures
    1. Agree to be audited in a single unified audit, and
    1. Agree any Deficiency and Remediation against one business entity will apply to all of the business entities under the shared certification.

NOTE: Businesses that do not meet all of the Family of Companies criteria will need to maintain separate business certifications.

Family of Companies benefits:

    • Only one set of policies and procedures needs to be created rather than multiple versions of the same policy.
    • Only the Chief Compliance Officer needs to complete their individual Certified Receivables Compliance Professional (CRCP) designation rather than having multiple CCOs.
    • All businesses in a “family of companies” have a single unified audit, which significantly reduces costs for external audits for each separate business.
    • The cost of adding an additional business to your certification is only $100 rather than an additional fee of $1,800 per business.

» Click here to find a certified company.