RMAI Receivables Management Certification Program

RMAI’s Receivables Management Certification Program offers professional designations to businesses and individuals operating and employed within the receivables industry. RMAI launched the Certification Program in 2013 with a stated mission to “provide enhanced consumer protections through rigorous and uniform industry standards of best practice.” Often cited as the “gold standard” due to requirements that go above and beyond what is required by law, the program certifies collection agencies, debt buying companies, collection law firms, and brokers.

» Click here to find a certified business (real-time database). 

» Click here to find a certified individual.

To earn an RMAI certification designation, businesses and individuals must demonstrate that they have implemented the required rigorous standards, achieved the necessary continuing education requirements, and have passed an RMAI conducted criminal background check. Learn how you can become RMAI Certified:

Business Certification


Certified Receivables Business

Business certifications are granted to debt buying companies, collection law firms, third-party collection agencies, and brokers that comply with uniform and rigorous industry standards of best practices including account documentation, consumer complaint and dispute resolution, vendor management, resale, and other operational procedures and pass a background check.

Certification for debt buying companies: Debt buying companies who are actively purchasing portfolios must complete their CPRC designation within one year as a condition for RMAI membership. Debt buying companies who are not actively purchasing receivables must meet the following requirements to remain an associate member:

  • Must not have purchased an account since your last membership renewal
  • When you purchase an account, it must meet all the requirements and standards outlined in the certification program
  • Must complete your business certification within one year of purchasing an account

Certification for collection law firms and third-party agencies:

Collection law firms, third-party collection agencies, and brokers may voluntarily seek the CRB designation but it is not a requirement in order to maintain their RMAI membership. Businesses like the single compliance footprint offered by the program as it provides a way to help identify potential business partners and venders that are committed (and audited) to the same high standards that they are maintaining.

Learn More

Individual Certification


Certified Receivables Compliance Professional

The Certified Receivables Compliance Professional (CRCP) designation is required for each certified business’s Chief Compliance Officer and a voluntary designation for others within the receivables industry. Every two years, individuals must pass a criminal background check conducted by RMAI and obtain 24 continuing education credits in subjects related to the receivables management industry, including 2 required ethics credits.

Maintaining the CRCP designation is one way to demonstrate to your employer, a future employer, or industry participants that you are committed to staying abreast of recent statutory and regulatory changes and are someone who takes compliance seriously.

Learn More

If you have a question or need further guidance on RMAI’s Receivables Management Certification Program, please contact RMAI at (916) 482-2462 or by email at cert@rmaintl.org.